Introducing the First Unitarian Church of Hobart

Our church is part of the national Unitarian Universalist Association (, and provides a non-creedal, liberal religious experience to all who support our principles, which are printed in the front of our hymnals.

Our roots lie deep in the history of Northwest Indiana. Our sanctuary, now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 and has been occupied by our congregation ever since. We housed the first lending library in Hobart, which is currently housed in our lower level discussion room. We continue to be active in humanitarian efforts in the region.

Our congregation is extremely diverse. We gather from all over Northwest Indiana, and draw from many different spiritual sources. We form a community that cherishes religious pluralism, promotes the inherent dignity of every person, and provides mutual support as we seek our personal spiritual and intellectual growth. A combination of four characteristics makes us unique: we are liberal and open, our children are involved in all aspects of our community, our mission is valued over our institution, and our culture is one of encouragement.

Please feel free to ask us about our denomination, our church, and our beliefs.


Church Leadership

Minister: Rev. Scott Aaseng

Board President: Maggie Reister Walters

Religious Education Chair: Michele Ferrell

Worship Committee Co-Chairs: Peter Martin

Office Manager: Jan Zorn

Music Director: Jeremy Jacobsen

Vanguard Editor: Noël Evans

Webmaster: Kelly Mahler


Slide Show

In order to view this object you need Flash Player 9+ support!

Get Adobe Flash player